Brown Skin

Brown skin, you know I love my brown skin, in the midst of racial injustices, somehow I still love my brown skin.

Last night, as I was in my feelings over the death of Alton Sterling I started listening to India Arie’s ‘Brown Skin’. It has been on repeat ever since.

Brown skin, you know I love my brown skin, in the midst of racial injustices, somehow I still love my brown skin.

123 Black men in the U.S.A have lost their lives to police violence thus far in 2016. Any of these could have easily been me. Simply Living despite this constant specter is an incredible act of resilience.

Brown skin, you know I love my brown skin, in the midst of racial injustices, somehow I still love my brown skin.

536 lives in the U.S.A have been lost to police violence thus far in 2016. Say their names.

Brown skin, you know I love my brown skin, in the midst of racial injustices, somehow I still love my brown skin.

Anger. Rage. Depression. Pain. Hopelessness. Death. Heavy hangs the load.

Brown skin, you know I love my brown skin, in the midst of racial injustices, somehow I still love my brown skin.

I told someone once that I hated being black sometimes. They replied with ‘Sorry’. White Privilege.

Brown skin, you know I love my brown skin, in the midst of racial injustices, somehow I still love my brown skin.

5 years ago I woke up to a drawing of a black man being hung and  five white men watching. The drawing was on my door. I slept at a friends place. Fear. Fear for my life. In my own home. Can a state of perpetual fear really ever be called home?

Brown skin, you know I love my brown skin, in the midst of racial injustices, somehow I still love my brown skin.

2 years ago a random man on the street yelled at me “Go back to Africa you fucking Nigger!” my white friends either did not notice or told me to ignore it. White Privilege.

Brown skin, you know I love my brown skin, in the midst of racial injustices, somehow I still love my brown skin.

I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired.

Brown skin, you know I love my brown skin, in the midst of racial injustices, somehow I still love my brown skin.

No Justice, No Peace. Hands Up, Don’t Shoot. Black Lives Matter

Brown skin, you know I love my brown skin, in the midst of racial injustices, somehow I still love my brown skin.

Leave a Reply

