Hi! My name is…

Hi! My name is Mugabi
That’s Luganda for ‘The Giver’. So I guess I’m predisposed to generosity
How one can be predisposed to anything I do not know
But the ancestors a.k.a my jajja spoke my name into existence so it must be so

Hi! My name is Augustine
That’s Catholic for a philosopher encased in sin
A.k.a the 2nd most famous man to release his confessions after Usher
A man who famously said “Grant me chastity and continence, but not yet”

Hi! My name is Ateenyi
That’s Runyoro for ‘cunning, resourceful and wily’
Also, the name of the mythical sea serpent who lurks in the Muzizi
Only granting safe passage to those named Ateenyi

Hi! My name is Olatokumbo
That’s Yoruba for “wealth and happiness from a foreign land”, just like Kimbo
Slice, I’m homeless in my own home
Rhymes coming off a familiar dome; in an unfamiliar loam

Hi! My name is Byenkya
That’s Runyoro for God is with us
In God we supposedly trust
But does God trust us?

Today I went to a writers workshop for the first time which was an awesome experience. I wrote and shared this poem (the quickest that I’ve ever written in 20 minutes!) during the workshop inspired by this prompt:
“If I didn’t define myself for myself, I would be crunched into other people’s fantasies for me and eaten alive” – Audre Lorde

Leave a Reply

