#ThrowbackThursdays: Friends and Lovers Feat. B-Town & LJ

Verse 1:
Mesmerized
By those pools you call eyes
As I fall in, don’t want to dip I want to dive
Wait a second, hold up. Take a glance to the side
Girl, you got such a beautiful smize šŸ™‚
Smiling with your eyes, making Tyra look intelligent
Gracing I with your presence, ever so benevolent
Opposite sex attraction is becoming irrelevant
You’re a full moon but see yourself as a crescent!
My oh my…
No, No, No don’t fantasize!
It would compromise to undress you with my eyes
Why are you blind to the beauty inside?
Girl you got me like the moon got tide
Always here for you if you want to confide
Or if you want to kick it, come chill and just ride
You got your friend by your side don’t cry
Girl don’t stress cause you know, I’m your guy

Chorus:
Not in love with you but I love you
Status is the friendzone
Not in love with you but I love you
No man is an island, I don’t want to be alone
Not in love with you but I love you
You bring back my roots and who I can be, you set my tone
Not in love with you but I love you
Not in love with you but I love you

Verse 2:
Potassium and oxygen we got great chemistry
Undoubtedly
Often in the same proximity
Relationship close to hereditary
Could it be more, maybe?
I ain’t gonna lie
Thought about it once or twice
Whispers from your friends and mine
Contemplating wine and dine
Just like rosemary and thyme
We a tag team
Don’t want to tear the seam
So fear held me back
Pondered my plan of attack
Just sat back, relaxed
And enjoyed your company
People kept on talking
But all I heard was squawking
In the background chatterboxing
While my mind was steady rocking
Were these feelings real?
Or were they simply questioning?
Was it my onus of others influence pre-destining?
So I thought about and I realized
That I had let others sway my eyes
Talking about how we can’t just be friends
Their own business they should tend
Girl what really matters is me and you

Chorus:
Not in love with you but I love you
Status is the friendzone
Not in love with you but I love you
No man is an island, I don’t want to be alone
Not in love with you but I love you
You bring back my roots and who I can be, you set my tone
Not in love with you but I love you
Not in love with you but I love you

Verse 3:
Enough hiding
Enough running from my fears
Time to man up grow up a pair
Time to face up to these emotions welling up to the surface
Time to stop using clever words to mask this internal furnace
Truth is, somewhere down the line, I’ll probably fall for you
Be wishing I could call you my boo
Learn from the past
Plan for the future
Live in the present
The present is apparent

Chorus:
Not in love with you but I love you
Status is the friendzone
Not in love with you but I love you
No man is an island, I don’t want to be alone
Not in love with you but I love you
You bring back my roots and who I can be, you set my tone
Not in love with you but I love you
Not in love with you but I love you

Not in love with you but I love you
Status is the friendzone
Not in love with you but I love you
No man is an island, I don’t want to be alone
Not in love with you but I love you
You bring back my roots and who I can be, you set my tone
Not in love with you but I love you
Not in love with you but I love you

Welcome back to anotherĀ #ThrowbackThursdays! Throw all the way back to 4 years ago in my Book of Rhymes! This week happens to be the 4th year anniversary of the release of ‘Friends and Lovers’ which initially started as a song about platonic friendship between a man and a woman. Shout-outs to the homies B-Town and LJ for their melodic singing, Papa for his masterĀ engineering, Sierra and Sunayan for creative direction, Brenda for her skills behind the camera and Kennie, Raisha, Harman, Steph, Mohammed, Luke, Kamala, Beth, Amanda, Arshia, LJ, Adut, Tori, Becky, Abby, Emily, Hannah, Kait, Joseph, Alex, Meng and Stephen for starring in it. Love you Rachel Ray ā¤ Ā 

Leave a Reply

