Gyebare ko!

Salaam everyone! You are most welcome to these pages upon which wit shall be inscribed, catharsis shall be chronicled and legends shall be born. You are soon to be enlightened with the presence of a smorgasbord of literary content both complete and in the works. Poetry, prose, raps, observations, quotes, short stories, I have all in ready abundance. I am also incredibly adept at wrapping up my fears, hesitations and qualms in flowery language as a defense mechanism.

So lets have some real talk. I have wanted to be an author since I was 4 years old. That and my intense love and passion for writing is one of exceedingly few things that has not changed in the past 20 years. Why an author? Ironically enough, it was a decision born out of ego.

The year was 1996. I vividly remember running up to my siblings after lunch, super excited to play. To my dismay, my siblings were all curled up on chairs in the sitting room reading. Reading. I was like “Lets play!” And my siblings replied, “No we’re reading”. Reading. What the heck was this reading thing that it could more fun than playing with me? I thought I was the greatest thing sliced bread and couldn’t fathom anything being preferable to playing with me. So I went to my mom and asked her to teach me how to read.

Several months later, after slogging through numerous intense reading lessons, I discovered the one thing, that was indeed superior to playing with me. Reading. After months of more intense lessons, I discovered the one thing that was superior to reading.

Writing.

 

3 thoughts on “Gyebare ko!

Leave a Reply

